Topic: Mocana port of CERT_STORE_addIdentityNakedKey()

I'm currently having some trouble replicating the Mocana call, CERT_STORE_addIdentityNakedKey().  I'm not an expert on certificates and keys, but my understanding is that this call loads a DER key without an associated certificate into the certificate store.  This is the pseudo-code that I'm using:

// Initialize wolfSSL
    status = wolfSSL_Init();

// Initialize WolfSSL certificate manager
    certManager = wolfSSL_CertManagerNew();

// Initialize the RNG
    wc_InitRng(&rng);

// Generate a new DSA key
    wc_InitDsaKey(&dsaKey) ;

// Generate DSA parameters
    wc_MakeDsaParameters(&rng, keySize, &dsaKey);

wc_MakeDsaKey(&rng, &dsaKey);

// Convert the DSA key to DER format
    pTempKeyDerLen = wc_DsaKeyToDer(&dsaKey, tempKeyDerBlob, sizeof(tempKeyDerBlob));

// Create SSL context
    sslCtx = wolfSSL_CTX_new(wolfSSLv23_server_method());

// Set up cipher suites and algorithms
    status =
            wolfSSL_CTX_set_cipher_list(sslCtx,
                    "ECDHE-ECDSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384:ECDHE-RSA-AES256-SHA384:AES256-GCM-SHA384:AES256-SHA256");

// Allow loading of naked key
    wolfSSL_CTX_set_verify(sslCtx, WOLFSSL_VERIFY_NONE, NULL);

// Load the private key into the SSL context
    status = wolfSSL_CTX_use_PrivateKey_buffer(sslCtx, tempKeyDerBlob, pTempKeyDerLen,
            WOLFSSL_FILETYPE_ASN1);

// Load the private key into the certificate manager
    status = wolfSSL_CertManagerLoadCABuffer_ex(certManager, tempKeyDerBlob, pTempKeyDerLen,
            WOLFSSL_FILETYPE_ASN1, 0, WOLFSSL_VERIFY_NONE);

In that code, the call to wolfSSL_CTX_use_PrivateKey_buffer returns WOLFSSL_BAD_FILE.  If I skip it and call wolfSSL_CertManagerLoadCABuffer_ex, it returns ASN_PARSE_E.  I looked at the DER, dumped it to a file, and verified it with openssl.  Not sure why I'm getting a parsing error when it works with OpenSSL.  I'd appreciate any help you can provide.